Hyundai caved. Quality will go even lower

Veloster Turbo Forum

This is a discussion on Hyundai caved. Quality will go even lower within the Off-Topic forums, part of the Veloster Turbo Forum category; Summary : 2020 Hyundai Elantra will ship with a CVT transmission, and manual trans are gone. I work in the automotive parts industry and have ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By alg
  • 1 Post By E9C900A
  • 1 Post By weinerd

Thread: Hyundai caved. Quality will go even lower

This user has no status.

Summary: 2020 Hyundai Elantra will ship with a CVT transmission, and manual trans are gone.

I work in the automotive parts industry and have many interactions with car manufacturers, parts manufacturers, and O.E. manufacturers like Delphi and JATCO.

What I am about to put out here is some info on a Very Big secret that people in my profession are not supposed to discuss.

The car manufacturers are aware of the nosedive in reliability when using ANY CVT transmission. This has been known since 2003 when the first gen Jatco's were going out on 20%+ of the Nissan's using it.

Hyundai/Kia and Toyota were staunch hold outs on using a CVT because the percentage of vehicle with a problem in the first 100000 miles goes up by more than 12%. Nissan and FCA have numbers near the 20% mark.

Honda recently made the change to CVT trans, and their real reliability numbers when down by more than 10%. What that means is taking a car model with a standard transmission and replacing it with a CVT resulted in greater than 10% more of the cars sold having some major repair before 100000 miles.
    The CVT is suspected to have dented Honda's sales numbers in 2016, and 2017, when sales went down significantly.
    Remember, this was the same time when you could get a car loan with Zero down and he ability to fog a mirror from just about anyone.