Need to replace Brake Pads

Veloster Turbo Forum

This is a discussion on Need to replace Brake Pads within the Veloster Turbo Australia forums, part of the Veloster Turbo World Forums category; Hey guys i can do most things on my car however im a newbie when it comes to brakes now i need new brake pads ...

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: Need to replace Brake Pads

This user has no status.

Hey guys i can do most things on my car however im a newbie when it comes to brakes

now i need new brake pads cause mine are starting to skretch.

what do i need to look at for replacements, anything specific for our V's ?

Keep dreaming! For without
    dreams, there would be no
    reality!

Disc brake pads are EASY compared to the old days with drums... My previous car, a friend helped and when it came time to the back brakes, he was telling me, "Now, okay, becareful of the spring because...." and SPROING! There went the spring. We spent more time looking for that damn thing than we did with the brakes!

Today, it's been several years but I think other than normal tools (screwdriver, band-aids, and beer, lots of beer), about the only thing you need is a vice clamp so that you can depress the caliper to relieve the pressure on the pad. Pop it out, put the new one on and take off the clamp. No bleeding of the brake lines, no springs shooting off to the other side of the yard, etc.

Disclaimer: This is a memory from several years back and may be distorted due to getting older and/or the consumption of many adult beverages during the brake changing process and since then. The procedures may have changed since then; along with my underwear (a few times, at least), the weather, and my mind.
    OzzyDee and 2mtech like this.
    2014 Caspian Black Genesis Coupe 3.8 Ultimate A/T -- Window Tint -- Diode Dynamics LEDs (Blue Maps, White Vanity, Glove Box and License)
    2013 Boston Red Turbo Ultimate A/T -- Wrapped in the loving hands of another...

Banned