Veloster Turbo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

(PROBLEMS LISTED AT BOTTOM). I just finished building my 13 VT. This is my Daily and my goal was to build something that was efficient on gas but I could also have some fun when needed. It has less than 500 miles on the engine. I am having two issues. A little background about this build. This is my 4th engine build and I have 10+ years of mechanic experience. This has me stumped. Any help or advice is much appreciated. I have no Cel.

The build (13 Stock Tune):
  • Bored block to 77.5 MM and decked at Shacklet automotive in Nashville
  • Head built by Shacklet automotive in Nashville
  • 77.5MM Traum Pistons
  • Molnar rods
  • King Main bearings
  • Hyundai rod bearings
  • New OEM Coil packs
  • HSK Spark Plugs
  • Injen CAI
  • Tork Pipe
  • Tork Motorsport Downpipe
  • All OEM seals
  • New timing chain components (reused cam phasers)
  • Fuel injectors cleaned and tested at Injector RX
  • New OEM Borg warner turbo
  • Oil Catch can
  • Braided Fuel Line
  • New OEM HP Fuel Pump
  • Upgraded Mac solenoids
  • Assco Flywheel
  • OEM Clutch
  • Braided clutch line
  • All new front and reart end suspension

• Problem 1- A rachet sound that I can only hear in the cabin. I have stethoscoped the engine from top to bottom and cannot pick up the sound in the engine bay only in the cabin. The High-pressure pump is the only thing that has a sound that is remotely the same. I replaced the fuel pump lifter and pump and am still getting the same sound. The only time it stops is when I left off the throttle with the car still in any gear and the sound stops. As soon as I touch the throttle it comes back.
    • New HP Pump
    • New Braided fuel line
    • Fuel injectors cleaned and tested at Injector RX
    • New HP pump lifter
    • The tank pump is on order