Veloster Turbo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to diagnose this...... I have some knowledge of cars and I do the work on my bolt on 2013 Camaro SS 1LE. My girlfriend bought a 2015 Veloster Turbo used back in 16 or 17 with about 20-30k on it. The car was and still is 100% stock and it currently has 113k on the odometer. Few days ago she told me that her car was not running right when she tried giving it gas. She said the CEL flashed and then stayed on but went away after a few miles. I told her about 30k ago to replace her spark plugs after her car was taking longer to crank, this happens intermittently. First thing I did was replaced all 4 plugs with Autolite XP5703 and gaped them all to .030. Took it for a drive and at about 30% throttle the car would break up and surge really bad. A CEL came on so I took it immediately to Advance Auto to get the code read..... P0303 Cylinder #3 misfire. To diagnose it further I replaced the ignition coil for cylinder #3 (2B110). Still no luck. I told her to drive the car to almost empty and fill up with shell 93 and throw some techron or lucas injector cleaner in it. About a day later I disconnected the battery because the car could hardly move without surging and breaking up. I did this in attempts to clear the CEL but didnt unplug it for enough time, the CEL stayed on but the car behaved much better now only breaking up with about 50% throttle. I tried every mode eco, normal, sport, same outcome. The car will rev out but when you give it over ~50% throttle it breaks up. When the car is in park or neutral it idles and revs fine with no breaking up or surging. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,955 Posts
autolite is a bad plug.

get NGK plugs gap to .028 heat range 7 (@E9C900A correct me if I am wrong) ... NGK SILZKR7B8E

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
autolite is a bad plug.