Are you running BOV recirculate or to atmosphere

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Im a noob here and i am curious which is a better choice, to run the bov to recirculate or to atmosphere. looking for pros and cons on both.

what are you guys running mostly. and what kinda benefits are you seeing to with that way.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Some will say you get better MPG by re-circ, I have ran both and I do not see a difference. You will obviously get the BOV sound while venting to the atmosphere, about the only difference I have noticed.

·
Registered
523 Posts
The fueling in the VT is decided by a manifold absolute pressure (map) sensor not a mass air flow (maf) sensors. Because of this, there is no performance difference. The only difference will be that the one is louder.

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
The fueling in the VT is decided by a manifold absolute pressure (map) sensor not a mass air flow (maf) sensors. Because of this, there is no performance difference. The only difference will be that the one is louder.
This is correct. These valves serve the purpose of keeping the air moving after the throttle plate closes to prolong turbocharger life. That's it.

Some say that recirculating will help turbo to spool quicker..... I prefer the noise!:smile:
As far as I know, turbine wheel -> shaft -> compressor wheel assembly is driven by exhaust gases. The only way to make a turbo spool faster would be to have it fed more more/faster/hotter exhaust gases through the turbine housing.

·
Banned
3,170 Posts
Im a noob here and i am curious which is a better choice, to run the bov to recirculate or to atmosphere. looking for pros and cons on both.

what are you guys running mostly. and what kinda benefits are you seeing to with that way.
Your an M/T,...recirc or not wont impact you as much.

·
Registered
83 Posts