Veloster Turbo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
373 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I have been having loads of issues with my VT recently turbo wise, they dealer couldn't fix it, no codes thrown-- called corperate and they got a better dealership on the job, old one called up asking for me to rate them perfect 10 stars :disappointed: anyhow. Got a call from the new dealer, they said my issues sound like they are pointing to the BPV, they said they have had 2-3 turbos come in for the diaphragm being torn.

This is my guess, Due to the BPV mod being done and removing the hose, water got in the BPV during this winter and froze up, once I got driving the car the frozen diaphragm could have torn causing tons of issues. Now I understand this mod is cheap but every other open air BOV I've had in the past was a metal piston operated unit, and thus wouldn't suffer from the above.

I'm no mechanic by any means, but just wanted to give you guys the heads up about this so you might consider picking up a real BOV or skipping the mod, I'll keep this thread updated once the dealer gives me the final verdict, just figured I'd share my experience having 3 other VT's come in with the same issue makes me feel like a lot of people were either doing the mod and having issues, or the part is just s**t from the factory.

You would have to intentionally spray water in there, and even then, it wouldn't damage anything unless you decided to pump ounces of water in.

the rubber is torn because with other things on these vehicles, they are made quite cheaply and obviously not engineered for the temperature variations or pressure variations very well.

People had cracks in the rubber diaphragms at low miles with no mod done.
So it might just be a crap part, either way figured I'd share my experience with everyone.