Veloster Turbo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Diagnosing Possible Misfires – Veloster turbo
It seems that a common issue with the Veloster turbo are misfires. These misfires can be caused by a large number of reason but here I will try to address the most common problems, how to diagnose them, and how to fix them. Chances are if your VT is having a misfire issue you will notice it. You hit the gas pedal waiting for that turbo rush and all the sudden the car hiccups, stutters, and jerks. This is a saddening event. Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic, I do have many years of DIY experience with cars but am far from a professional. If you blow up your engine by misdiagnosing and incorrectly installing a part, that will lie with you.
I will do my best to update this post with new information, techniques, and maybe links to DIYs for some items as they become available. If you see anything in this that is either incorrect or misleading please PM me and I will make sure to correct it.

Symptoms
As stated above, if you feel sudden stuttering from the engine your car is more than likely misfiring. It is usually an obvious jerking (not to be confused with “the wave” that is commonly seen during partial throttle and is more attributed to the stock intake design and stock tune). You will also see your Check Engine Light blinking as the misfire is occurring.
Disclaimer: If this is your Youtube video, please PM me so I may give credit to you.

Possible Problems
The misfire can be caused by a number of different reasons, so let’s go through the list of common issues that have caused misfires and determine what exactly is happening in your case.