Veloster Turbo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I wanted to create this thread to discuss tuning with HP Tuners. I recently picked up a mpvi2 and have begun editing the stock file. I am hoping this thread might allow other users to chime in or potentially encourage novice tuners to dabble in creating their own tunes. I am new to VT and I recently picked up a 14 for my DD.

Currently I am working on getting my boost flat and AFRs ideal. (current progress with very little adjustment). My goal for my own personal preference is to not exceed 19psi as I begin to here the turbo surge. I see people on here running more boost but in my personal opinion a surging turbo is an unhappy turbo.

When observing the stock datalog, I noticed an undesirable boost curve. Also, I noticed the stock tune loves to KR. It leads me to believe that KR, though undesirable is somewhat normal as the Base and Base Correction tables blend together to provide most optimal timing. This is just my theory, I would love to hear other peoples opinion.

The next eye opening problem I saw with the stock tune was on tip in the target lamda is around 1 (14.7 AFR). At this point the car is already making boost and even though Hyundai thinks its ok, I do not.

This was an easy fix by messing with the Power Enrichment Tables. To create a nice smooth tip in AFR that reacts fast
with minimal oscillation.

Anyways, I hope this thread catches some traction and we might be able to work together and learn tuning our own cars.

-Scott

Attachments

·
Registered
111 Posts
There are a few self tuners around. Unfortunately, from what I have seen, information isn't shared that openly.

Also unfortunately, for me, I have a Kia Forte. Same ECU but different stock tune (from what I've read) and it doesn't look like its supported.

I would love to be able to tweak my tune a bit on my own.

·
Registered
3,217 Posts