Veloster Turbo Forum banner
81 - 100 of 109 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #81 ·
So had an interesting time with getting it tuned. Low end power is limited by the clutch and the slight slip at the end was the rear main seal slipping and letting oil in :/ got it sorted and I think it was the cans being too restrictive for whatever reason as the pressure obviously got high as it was not just oil on the catch cans.

Much happier with those removed and an inspection of the cylinders was clear and no odd behaviour over all rpm.

I'm wondering now if my turbo is just on the weak side. Either way next on my list is
a flywheel/clutch upgrade.
 

Attachments

·
Administrator
2015 auto VT, 2013 manual VT × 2
Joined
·
5,429 Posts
That power curve looks typical and nothing slipped based on that power curve. Catch cans are meant to catch more than oil so that's likely normal. What all mods are on the car including turbo and specs of the build? Datalog of this dyno pull? Is there a baseline dyno to compare to? Without dynojet numbers or a baseline on the same dyno with the same settings, and datalogs to compare, I will be of little help to sort any issues.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #83 ·
On the specs of the car see the first couple of posts on the internals, you can see the spec of the engine and the pistons. Stock turbo.

I did not get a data log with the run, I could request it if they saved it.
 

·
Administrator
2015 auto VT, 2013 manual VT × 2
Joined
·
5,429 Posts
Ah missed that somehow when looking back.

Anyway, nothing slipping on the car in the dyno pull.

A datalog would be nice. A boost curve as well and afr or lambda values during a pull. I can then tell you what may be safe/unsafe and how much more the stock turbo can be pushed.

The unfortunate thing about the dyno used is you can oy compare it to others on that same dyno with the same settings which would be 0 most likely unlike the cars that have been on a dynojet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #87 ·

Just be aware the glass on my car was a pain to get out my mirrors and caused some damage I had to repair. If yours is easier then it's not so bad, glass off, one screw, use trim tool to remove outer cover and slide out the old one and slide in the new one with the weather proof power connector. I also used a self tapping screw to secure it in better than the stock screw. Fits pretty well as you see.
 

·
Registered
2016 hyundai veloster turbo
Joined
·
2 Posts


Here are a couple of my non performance mods, rewrapped in high quality leather steering wheel and android head unit running torque there.
What Head unit is that? whats the full name of the app you have ?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
3,785 Posts
Probably somewhere in this thread...
 

·
Registered
2016 Veloster Turbo DCT Ultimate
Joined
·
283 Posts
App looks like torque app. So I would imagine it's an android head unit in there.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
3,785 Posts
it's a belsee!

it was unfair, since it isn't listed but i know what it looks like as i've been entertaining picking one up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #99 ·
Was getting alternator whine through the android head unit.

Popped this inline on the power input


Sorted it out, there is a handy nut you can use for ground below where the unit rests.
 

·
Registered
2015 RB Accent-not so stock 🤫
Joined
·
674 Posts
Was getting alternator whine through the android head unit.

Popped this inline on the power input


Sorted it out, there is a handy nut you can use for ground below where the unit rests.
That's nothing more than a simple capacitor for a filter. 🤷🏼‍♂️😉
Proper grounding and wiring will give you no alternator whine if done right. Filters are bandaids that'll cover an electrical wound that never heals. 😁
Check your grounds and make sure they're connected to bare metal. Good luck with it. 👍🤙
 
81 - 100 of 109 Posts
Top