Veloster Turbo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I have just signed up to this forum and am a complete newbie. I have had my Veloster Turbo for three weeks now and am already having issues. Mainly when I press my push button start, the engine doesn't start. It has only been happening for the last couple of days but this morning I stalled in peak hour traffic and had to spend a few minutes trying to get my car to start! It shouldn't be that hard! I try every combination of in gear, in neutral, just clutch or clutch and brake... When I press the start button it turns the computer and lights on etc and then turns off - no engine! Even with my foot on the clutch right to the floor. So frustrating. Sometimes I can get in the car and it will start, sometimes it will take me 8 presses of the button or more before it starts.

I called my local Hyundai service department to book the car in for it's initial 1,500km check and mentioned this problem, and the lady said that there is a manual override to get the car to start, but I didn't really want to try that. Has anyone else heard of this or know what might be happening? I would appreciate any comments or feedback!

Thanks,
KC :cool:

·
Registered
353 Posts
To me, it sounds like when you clutch in, the computer isn't registering it properly. I think that's controlled by the upper clutch connector.
Check out the DIY for the lower connector that many of us have done to combat the rev hang, in there you'll see pics of both connectors

Check the upper one.

I seem to recall someone disconnected that one, and the car wouldn't start.

·
Registered
1,840 Posts